Works of Mercy

"Be merciful just as your Father is merciful" Luke 6:36    

Jesus Christ taught that man not only receives and experiences the mercy of God, but that he is also called "to practice mercy" towards others: "Blessed are the merciful, for they shall obtain mercy" (Matt 5:7). The Church sees in these words a call to action, and she tries to practice mercy. All the beatitudes of the Sermon on the Mount indicate the way of conversion and of reform of life, but the one referring to those who are merciful is particularly eloquent in this regard. Man attains to the merciful love of God, His mercy, to the extent that he himself is interiorly transformed in the spirit of that love towards his neighbour.

John Paul II, Dives in misericordia, 14


The Church teaches us to be merciful in various ways:

The Seven Corporal Works of Mercy
  1. To feed the hungry
  2. To give drink to the thirsty
  3. To clothe the naked
  4. To give welcome to strangers
  5. To visit the sick
  6. To visit the imprisoned
  7. To bury the dead

The Seven Spiritual Works of Mercy
  1. To convert the sinner
  2. To instruct the ignorant
  3. To counsel the doubtful
  4. To comfort the sorrowful
  5. To bear wrongs patiently
  6. To forgive injuries
  7. To pray for the living and the dead